Bad and Ode to My Family

• 6 Replies

Joerst

Bad and Ode to My Family
« on: April 19, 2021, 11:08:30 AM »
I hummed the melody of Bad and suddenly a melody in the verse sounded just like the one in Ode to My Family. A funny thing happens when you hum the lyrics: "True colors fly in blue and black, Bruised silken sky and burning flag".

I just wanted to share this because it was a pleasant surprise to me and I thought others might like to see this connection between the songs. I googled it, but I couldn't find anybody talking about this similarity in that part of the melody. It made me smile to think that Cranberries hid a U2 gem in plain sight.

This is my first time posting on this site. I love to see so much love for U2, because they are the band that has given me most joy. I need U2 like the desert needs rain. :)

riffraff

• Why did you offer your soul?
Re: Bad and Ode to My Family
« Reply #1 on: April 19, 2021, 11:41:27 AM »
Welcome to the forum, Joerst!
You speak of signs and wonders, but I need something other

The Exile

• The public enemy don't mean shit to Chuck D.
« Reply #2 on: April 19, 2021, 01:24:48 PM »
I hummed the melody of Bad and suddenly a melody in the verse sounded just like the one in Ode to My Family. A funny thing happens when you hum the lyrics: "True colors fly in blue and black, Bruised silken sky and burning flag".

I just wanted to share this because it was a pleasant surprise to me and I thought others might like to see this connection between the songs. I googled it, but I couldn't find anybody talking about this similarity in that part of the melody. It made me smile to think that Cranberries hid a U2 gem in plain sight.

This is my first time posting on this site. I love to see so much love for U2, because they are the band that has given me most joy. I need U2 like the desert needs rain. :)

I never noticed it before, but now that I'm humming them I think you're on to something.